LoveNotes

Living on Purpose

The most important decision that I feel I have made was to accept Jesus as Lord and Savior over my life.(Yes, this is about Him!) Although some might not see it as a big deal, I do because it has solidified everything that I felt was true about the world. When the truth is spoken to you, it resonates what you already know in your heart. That is what I felt when someone first introduced the Gospel to me.

Since I grew up never going to church or reading the Bible, my knowledge of what constituted a “Christian” was limited and skewed. I really didn’t even know why people went to church or the purpose of prayer; however, when the opportunity arrived for someone to share these things with me, my curiosity got the best of me and I found myself asking many questions.

I’m reminded of a quote spoken by Mark Twain: “The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why.” This is significant because within my walk with Christ not only have I grown as a person and learned about God, the Bible, and how the world works, but most importantly, I’ve learned about His love and how He wants us to live. For me, this decision wasn’t about giving up my life to be controlled, but rather, give it structure and a purpose to be free in who I am and extend my gifts to others.

In living on purpose, I don’t mean just consuming and being spontaneous, but being concise and on-purpose with every opportunity and person. Living to grow and leave not just a physical legacy, but one of good character and “pay it forward.” A legacy that people can look back on and see that it wasn’t me doing these things, but God Himself working through an ordinary person in an extraordinary way. I may not know the real reason that I’m here until the very end, but it is safe to say that a part of my purpose is to love and just “be.”

If you haven’t thought about giving your life to Christ, I ask you to take a moment and reconsider.  I know you’ll be glad you did.

Shiloe

Check out: The Invitation 101

cards-1076921_1280

Leave a Reply

